Think different – Act digital

by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Raimund Klinkner and Prof. Dr. Robert Balcckburn

Dear Members,
dear Readers,

In October 2017, BVL sent an open letter to the members of the German Bundestag parliament. The letter outlined transport infrastructure, digital infrastructure, urban logistics, education and the acceleration of planning procedures as the five political fields of action that are of most relevance to logistics. BVL not only called on policymakers to take action, however, but also offered to work together to develop the necessary strategies. This is just one example of how BVL uses its unique status as a network and an impartial association to advance the interests of logistics across all sectors and to ensure that the logistics industry is heard in the halls of power. This is something for which BVL is valued by its members and by other entities beyond the confines of the association.

The theme for the year 2017 was "Think different – Act digital". We were able to see how logistics managers in all areas of industry are in the process of putting new technological options into practice. As the guest of honour at our conference, former German President Joachim Gauck called on employees in the sector not to let themselves be overwhelmed by technology. "We won't be without work, but we must be ready for new forms of work", Gauck said. It is this kind of mindset that laid the foundation for the conference theme and the theme for 2018 adopted by the BVL Board in November – namely "Digitalization Meets Reality".

In these exciting times, there is also a change at the helm of the BVL Board after eleven years – a planned change and one based on the association's statutes. There will be two big dates in the early part of the new President's term in office – the association will celebrate its 40th birthday on April 18, and in October BVL will be hosting the 35th International Supply Chain Conference. When BVL was founded, logistics was still in the process of becoming an independent discipline. Today, logistics is one of the core fields of expertise of the German economy. Since it was created, BVL has been at the heart of the industry – as a source of information, a communication platform, a knowledge and expert network, and a community that benefits and brings joy to all those involved.

With heartfelt thanks for our joint efforts during the past eleven years and in great anticipation of the things we will develop together in the future,

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Raimund Klinkner,  President until December 31, 2017                                                                           

Prof. Dr. Robert Blackburn, President from January 1, 2018

"BVL uses its unique status as a network and an impartial association to advance the interests of logistics across all sectors and to ensure that the logistics industry is heard in the halls of power."

Neues denken - Digitales leben

Vorwort von Prof. Dr.-Ing. Raimund Klinkner, Vorsitzender des BVL-Vorstands bis 31. Dez. 2017, und Prof. Robert Blackburn, Vorsitzender des BVL-Vorstands seit 1. Jan. 2018

mit einem offenen Brief hat sich die BVL im Oktober 2017 an die Mitglieder des Deutschen Bundestages gewandt. Darin führte sie die Verkehrsinfrastruktur, die digitale Infrastruktur, die urbane Logistik, die Bildung und die Beschleunigung von Planungsverfahren als die fünf politischen Handlungsfelder mit höchster Relevanz für die Logistik an. Die BVL formulierte jedoch nicht nur Forderungen an die Politik, sondern bot auch an, mit ihr gemeinsam Konzepte zu entwickeln. Dieser Vorgang ist ein Beispiel dafür, wie die BVL ihre einzigartige Stellung als Netzwerk und objektive Instanz nutzt, um die Logistik branchenübergreifend voranzubringen und ihr Gehör zu verschaffen. Dafür wird sie von ihren Mitgliedern und über diesen Kreis hinaus geschätzt.

Das Jahr 2017 stand unter der Überschrift „Neues denken – Digitales leben“. Wir konnten beobachten, dass die Logistiker in allen Bereichen der Wirtschaft dabei sind, die neuen technologischen Möglichkeiten in der Praxis umzusetzen. Als Ehrengast unseres Kongresses ermutigte Bundespräsident a. D. Joachim Gauck die Mitarbeiter des Wirtschaftsbereichs, sich nicht von der Technik überwältigen zu lassen. „Wir werden nicht ohne Arbeit sein, aber wir müssen bereit für neue Formen der Arbeit sein“, so Gauck. Unter anderem diesen Gedanken reflektiert das Kongress- und Jahresmotto 2018, das der Vorstand der BVL im November verabschiedet hat: „Digitales trifft Reales“.

In diesen spannenden Zeiten vollzieht sich – satzungsgemäß und nach Plan – nach elf Jahren ein Wechsel im Vorstandsvorsitz. Gleich zu Beginn der neuen Präsidentschaft gibt es 2018 zwei Jahrestage zu feiern: Am 18. April wird der Verein 40 Jahre alt, und im Oktober sind wir Gastgeber des 35. Deutschen Logistik-Kongresses. Als die BVL ins Leben gerufen wurde, steckte die Logistik als eigenständige Disziplin noch in den Kinderschuhen. Heute ist sie eine der Kernkompetenzen der deutschen Wirtschaft. Die BVL ist seit ihrer Gründung mittendrin im Geschehen– als Informationsquelle, Kommunikationsplattform, Wissens- und Expertennetzwerk und als eine Gemeinschaft, aus der alle Beteiligten Freude und Nutzen ziehen.

Mit Dank für die gemeinsame Arbeit in den vergangenen elf Jahren und in gespannter Erwartung darauf, was wir in Zukunft gemeinsam entwickeln werden,

Ihre

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Raimund Klinkner, Vorsitzender des Vorstands (bis 31. Dezember 2017)

Prof. Dr. Robert Blackburn, Vorsitzender des Vorstands (ab 1. Januar 2018)

 „Die BVL nutzt ihre einzigartige Stellung als Netzwerk und objektive Instanz, um die Logistik branchenübergreifend voranzubringen und ihr Gehör zu verschaffen.“