

Science Award for Supply Chain Management 2024

Invitation for Entries



Have you worked on an application-oriented research question? Are you advancing logistics?

The Science Award for Supply Chain Management reflects the importance of logistics and supply chain management and emphasizes the need for scientific research in order to continuously improve efficiency and sustainability in this area. It therefore promotes young scientists and contributes to the development of innovative solutions that can advance industry and trade as well as society.

Now for the 33rd time, the BVL awards this prize to young scientists whose academically outstanding work is particularly relevant to practice and thus ideally suited for implementation in everyday working life. It also involves the supervising institutes, as it is from there that decisive impulses are sent out and the necessary conditions for goal-oriented work are created.

After a pre-selection by the jury, the best-ranked works will be presented in a pitch-session at the BVL Supply Chain CX 2024 in Berlin. "Empower to unite" is the motto of the BVL Supply Chain CX, which is taking place for the first time. The finalists will take their place on the big stage!

Taking the presentation into account, an independent jury will decide on the awardee of the Science Award for Supply Chain Management 2024. The Science Award for Supply Chain Management is endowed with 5,000€. The awardee, the supervising institute and all finalists will receive a certificate.

Experienced specialists will evaluate your work



Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Wolfgang Kersten

Chairman of the Jury Institute Director, Institute of Business Logistics and General Management, Hamburg University of Technology, Scientific Advisory Board, BVL



Dr.-Ing. Julia Boppert

Managing Director, trilogiQa, Munich, Finalist, Science Award for Supply Chain Management 2008



Dr. Inga Lena Darkow

Digitalization of Business, Al Solutions for Business and Supply Chains, BASF, Ludwigshafen



Dr. Michael Krings

Managing Director, dmklogistik beratungsund beteiligungs GmbH, Munich



Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ludger Overmeyer

Institute Director, Institute of Transport and Automation Technology, Leibniz University Hannover, Scientific Advisory Board, BVL



Prof. Dr.-Ing. Stefan E. A. Recknagel

Vice President Spare Part Logistics, BSH Hausgeräte GmbH, Fürth



Prof. Dr. Carl M. Wallenburg

Professor, Logistics and Services Management, WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management, Düsseldorf Scientific Advisory Board, BVL, Awardee, Science Award for Supply Chain Management 2004

Terms of participation:

- For the application for the Science Award for Supply Chain Management submissions from doctoral candidates, post-doctoral candidates and their supervisors are admitted.
- Only theses that have been completed by June 30, 2024, i.e. for which the disputation or viva has been successfully completed, can be considered. At the same time, the work must not be older than three years. It is not mandatory that the work has already been published in a book
- The work must be an application-oriented question, in which a benefit that is comprehensible for practice is demonstrated. The forms of implementation must be described or comprehensible approaches to implementation must be shown.
- A focus on specific industries and logistical functions is not mandatory, but a presentation of the results for reference industries or functions is desired.
- Compliance with the formal conditions will be checked by the BVL office.

The following aspects should be elaborated in your letter of application:

- the scientific claim
- the connection to logistics
- the innovative content
- the practical relevance



Previous award awardees

2023 Dr.-Ing. Mirko Kück | 2022 Dr. Arne Heinold | 2021 Dr. Pascal Notz | 2020 Dr. Felix Weidinger | 2019 Dr.-Ing. Sascha Feldhorst | 2018 Dr.-Ing. Eva Klenk | 2017 Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Rank | 2016 Dr.-Ing. Max Gath und Dr.-Ing. Zäzilia Seibold 2015 Dr.-Ing. Tobias Krühn | 2014 Dr. Matthias Winkenbach | 2013 Dr. Mayolo Alberto López Castellanos | 2012 Dr. Jennifer Schwarz und Dr.-Ing. Martin Keßler | 2011 Dr. Jochen Gönsch | 2010 Dr.-Ing. Arne Schuldt | 2009 Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Meißner 2008 Dr. Moritz Gomm | 2007 Dr.-Ing. Marc Schleyer | 2006 Dr. Gernot Liedtke | 2005 Dr. Ralf Elbert | 2004 Dr. Carl Marcus Wallenburg | 2003 Dr. Thorsten Klaas | 2002 Dr. Hermann Lödding | 2001 Dr. Stephan Dürrschmidt | 2000 Dr. Mechthild Erdmann | 1999 Dr. Martin Kaupp | 1998 Dr.-Ing. Markus Greiling | 1997 Dr. Uta Schneider | 1996 Dr. Holger Beckmann 1995 Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Gläßner | 1994 Dr.-Ing. Stefan Wolff | 1993 Dr. Wilhelm-Achim Hosenfeld | 1992 Dr. Stephan Freichel



Please submit your work as follows in a two-stage procedure

Stage 1

(digital only, in a PDF file, by e-mail to forschung@bvl.de)

- Informal cover letter to the jury showing the fulfilment of the evaluation criteria
- Abstract of the thesis (max. three DIN A4 pages)
- Complete outline of the work
- CV in tabular form
- Letter of support from the supervising professor
- List of publications
- Declaration by the submitter whether the work has been submitted in another procedure of the same kind

The submission must be made in German or English.

Deadline for entries is June 30, 2024.

Stage 2

(digital only, in a PDF file, by e-mail to forschung@bvl.de)

After a pre-selection by the jury, the most promising applicants will be asked to submit the complete dissertation in mid/end-August 2024.

The final will take place as part of the BVL Supply Chain CX. Please note the date: October 23, 2024 from 3:00 - 3:45 p.m., the award ceremony will presumably take place on October 24.

Advice for and help with the application process

For further information on the application process, please contact:



Susanne Grosskopf-Nehls Senior Project Manager T +49 / 421 / 173 84 19 grosskopf@bvl.de

There is no right of appeal.

